Chapman Celebrates Gala Night 2017 cast on stage
Saturday, November 3, 2018
Chapman Celebrates

» 37th Annual Gala Night

Thank you for your support of the 2018 Chapman Celebrates Gala Night! To view photos from this incredible night please visit here.  

Save the date for the 2019 Chapman Celebrates Gala Night on

Saturday, November 2, 2019! 

Every year, Chapman Celebrates transforms our university with the magic of Broadway in a heart-pounding showcase of talent and artistry – brought to the stage in part by your support. For nearly four decades, students in our College of the Performing Arts have had the opportunity to delight and amaze our supportive Chapman Family with professional-caliber song and dance performances.

This year we are proud to honor three members of our Chapman Family during our Saturday night performance. Founding member of The Grateful Dead and current Chapman parent, Bob Weir, will receive the Lifetime Achievement in the Arts award. Zeinab Dabbah, M.D. (JD '12) and Daniel Temianka, long-time Chapman supporters, will be honored as the 2018 Citizens of the Year.

Please join us for Chapman Celebrates, a thrilling night showcasing student talent, alumni achievement and philanthropy... and for one very important cause... Student Scholarships.

Cyndi and Akin Ceylan '90
Gala Night Chairs

Bob Weir - Lifetime Achievement in the Arts

Bob Weir holding a guitar Over the last 50 years, Bob Weir has established himself as one of rock’s finest and most distinctive rhythm guitarists. He is a founding member of the legendary Grateful Dead, a Rock n’ Roll Hall of Fame inductee and the recipient of the Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award in 2007. Weir has performed alongside many acts including The Other Ones, Kingfish, Bob Weir Band, Bobby and the Midnites, Scaring the Children, Ratdog and Furthur (co-led by Phil Lesh). Weir is currently a member of Dead & Company, which features Grateful Dead members Mickey Hart and Bill Kreutzmann, along with Grammy-winner John Mayer, Oteil Burbridge and Jeff Chimenti.

In 2016, he received the inaugural Les Paul Spirit Award and was honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Americana Music Association. Also in 2016, Weir released “Blue Mountain” on Columbia/Legacy/ROAR, his first album of solo material in more than 10 years and his first album of entirely original material in more than 30 years. The album received rave reviews from critics including NPR who called the LP “stately, autumnal, metaphysical cowboy songs.”

Weir was the subject of the 2015 Netflix documentary “The Other One: The Long Strange Trip of Bob Weir” which chronicles his storied career.

Zeinab Dabbah, M.D. (JD '12) and Daniel Temianka, M.D. - Citizens of the Year

Zeinab Dabbah and Daniel Temianka A dedication to learning and discovery, plus a deep commitment to stewardship for the future define Drs. Daniel Temianka, M.D. and Zeinab H. Dabbah, M.D. (JD ’12), Chapman University’s 2018 Citizens of the Year. Together, they are passionately dedicated to enriching their communities and supporting a future filled with creativity and education.

Daniel and Zeinab’s involvement with Chapman touches our whole campus community, strengthening the complex studies of the arts and legal practice. A committed alumna, Zeinab is currently a vice-chair of Chapman University’s board of trustees, and serves on multiple Chapman boards and councils.

Daniel selected Chapman to house the legacy of his father, violin virtuoso and Paganini Quartet founder Henri Temianka. He and Zeinab established the Henri Temianka Professorship in Music and Scholarship in String Studies at the Hall-Musco Conservatory, and endowed the Henri Temianka Archives, a priceless collection of letters, photos, musical scores and memorabilia now accessible to students and scholars in the Leatherby Libraries.

They believe strongly that the joy of music and performance art is vital to connecting human beings to each other. Through endowment, their names grace the mezzanine in the Musco Center for the Arts as well as the Frank J. Doti Lecture Hall at the Fowler School of Law. Their giving extends to Chapman’s Hilbert Museum, Classical KUSC, UC Santa Barbara and the Rose Bowl Aquatic Center in Pasadena.

Zeinab and Daniel are cultivators of our culture, music and learning. Their travels have taken them from Antarctica to the North Pole. They are dedicated to their four children, and recently welcomed their first grand-child.

Gala Night

Saturday, November 3, 2018
Musco Center for the Arts
Chapman University

5:30 p.m. Cocktail Reception

7:00 p.m. Stage Show

8:30 p.m. Gala Dinner

For questions regarding tickets and sponsorship please contact
Tami R. Thompson
Director of External Relations
(714) 744-7031

2018 Gala Night Sponsors

Brenda and Michael Carver | R.J. Noble Company

Sandi and Ron Simon

Joan and George Adams
Ninetta and Gavin S. Herbert, Sr.
Kelly and Jim Mazzo
Daniel Temianka, M.D. and Zeinab Dabbah, M.D. (JD '12)

Dr. Rick and Sally Afable
Kay and James P. Burra
Irving and Nancy Chase
Laura and Paul Cook
Kristin Crellin | SchoolsFirst Federal Credit Union
Pamela and Andrew Horowitz
Joann Leatherby and Dr. Greg Bates
Melinda Masson | Masson Family Foundation
Nancy and Richard J. Muth '81 | ORCO Block & Hardscape
Gail and Ronald E. Soderling
Whittier Trust Wealth Management

Shannon and George L.
Argyros, Jr. ’89 (JD ’01)

Platinum Syndicated Tickets
Christine and Lon Cross | The Lloyd E. and Elisabeth H. Klein Family Foundation

Silver Syndicated Tickets
Marilyn Alexander and Lee Friedman

Individual Ticket Sponsors
Rebecca Hall ’96 and Randy Hall
Dennis Kuhl

Dr. Karen Wilkinson and Rev. Reginald Lancaster

In-Kind Sponsors
Orange County Business Journal

Hannah Kidwell '18 performing in the Chapman Celebrates 2017 stage show.
“I have been able to achieve so many things and have been given so many opportunities because of the incredible scholarships I received. Everything I’ve gained as a student and as a performer, I owe to Chapman.”
– Hannah Kidwell ‘18