» An Update from Our Dean

Fall 2021

Dean Ronald P. Jordan

Greetings! We hope you are well, and living a better, safer, healthier life. We also hope that you are as proud as we are, that you are contributing to creating that same life for the people you serve.

It was our school’s huge pleasure to welcome our seventh cohort of Doctor of Pharmacy (Pharm.D.) students in September. After living in a virtual world for over a year, it was truly remarkable to stand on the stage in the Musco Center for the Arts along with our faculty members to warmly welcome our students who are beginning their new journey as student pharmacists as well as those we had to provide a virtual ceremony to previously in the Class of 2023.

At this year’s White Coat Ceremony, Dr. Reza Taheri, CUSP’s Associate Dean of Professional Affairs and Student Success, spoke as the keynote speaker. We also had many notable speakers join us: Honorable Susan Bonilla (CEO of CPhA,) Dr. Keith Yoshizuka (President of CSHP), and Dr. Mary Ngo (alumni speaker, '19). We are proud of our incoming Class of 2024, featuring 82 students who will become the newest and greatest generation of pharmacists in the nation. I also would like to extend my heartfelt thanks to our generous White Coat sponsors who have shown their continuous dedication to supporting our students.

I am proud to share many accomplishments of our CUSP community. The CSHP/ASHP-SSHP student chapter won the 2021 CSHP Music Video competition this year. It is our chapter’s third time winning this annual video competition. It is remarkable to see our young student organization established in 2016 competing against the 13 pharmacy schools in California and making these outstanding achievements!  You can see that video HERE. In addition, CUSP Alumni Advisory Board welcomed a group of extraordinary alumni as the new board members who will continue to help advance our school. We are looking forward to seeing many more achievements of our students and alumni.

In addition to supporting our local community through the COVID-19 vaccination clinics, our faculty members continue to do their astonishing work in research. Dr. Jennifer Totonchy is the proud holder of three simultaneous NIH R01 awards, including a new grant for her application in response to the KS transmission RFA and another as Co-I with the City of Hope. Dr. Rachita Sumbria was also recently appointed as a member of the Drug Discovery for the Nervous System Study Section that reviews and makes recommendations on NIH grant applications. Dr. Sumbria also holds three simultaneous grants.

Lastly, I would like to congratulate Dr. Jeff Goad who was promoted to Associate Dean of Academic Affairs after supporting the Pharmacy Practice Department as the Department Chair for the past seven years. Dr. Goad has provided amazing service to our local community, university, state and profession during the pandemic. We are all grateful to have him step up further in the leadership of the CUSP team and looking forward to even more accomplishments in the Academic Affairs.

I would like to thank again all our friends and the pharmacy community for your commitment and support. It is because of you that we can do anything imaginable in preparing our students to keep patients safe in their medication use so they can lead better, safer, healthier lives!

Ronald P. Jordan, R. Ph., FAPhA
Dean, Chapman University School of Pharmacy