» Summer Scholars

ESI Summer Scholars

Monday, June 8 through Friday, July 10, 2020 

Application is now closed. Thank you for those who applied.

The Summer Scholar program at Chapman University will host 13 undergraduate students for five weeks this summer. Students will be participating in 4 overlapping reading groups and discussions will be led by Profs. Kyle Hampton, Keith Hankins, Erik Kimbrough, Jan Osborn, Andrew Smyth, and Bart Wilson.  As a 2020 Summer Scholar, students will work offline and meet online as assistants on research projects. The 2020 Summer Scholar schedules can be downloaded below:

Professor Andrew Smyth; Professor Erik Kimbrough; Professor Keith Hankins; and Professors Jan Osborn and Bart Wilson.

The scholars and their mentors will also meet daily as a reading group to discuss papers in experimental economics, as well as texts like F.A. Hayek’s The Sensory Order, McCloskey's The Bourgeois Virtues: Ethics for an Age of Commerce, Bernardine Evaristo's Girl, Woman, Other: A Novel, Joseph Henrich's The Secret of Our Success: How Culture is Driving Human Evolution, Domesticating Our Species and Making us Smarter, Bruno Latour and Steve Woolgar's The Laboratory Life, Scott Page's The Diversity Bonus: How Great Teams Pay Off in the Knowledge Economy, and Alexis de Tocqueville's Democracy in America.

Summer Scholars will receive a nominal stipend at the end of the five weeks and free and room board in a residence hall for the duration of the program.

All applicants must either have participated in the Vernon L. Smith High School Workshop or have taken at least one course from the faculty at the Smith Institute at the undergraduate level.

The program is generously sponsored by the International Foundation for Research in Experimental Economics (IFREE), the Thomas W. Smith Foundation, and the U.S. Justice Charitable Foundation.