» Institutional Review Board Members

The Institutional Review Board at Chapman University is composed of faculty and staff representing a cross-section of academic disciplines including the physical, social and behavioral sciences, as well as members representing the administration and the community. The IRB is currently housed under the Office of Research.

IRB Board Members

Peter Simi

Peter Simi, Ph.D.
simi@chapman.edu  

Dr. Simi is an Associate Professor in the Department of Sociology in the Wilkinson School of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences.  He is also the Director of the Earl Babbie Research Center.

Julia Boehm

Julia Boehm, Ph.D.
jboehm@chapman.edu 

Dr. Boehm is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Psychology in the Crean College of Health and Behavioral Sciences.

Siu Fun Wong

Siu Fun Wong, Pharm.D.
sfwong@chapman.edu

Dr. Wong is a Professor and Associate Dean of Assessment in the School of Pharmacy. 

Riva Tukachinsky Picture

Riva Tukachinsky, Ph.D.
tukachin@chapman.edu 

Dr. Tukachinsky is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Communication Studies in the Wilkinson College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences.

Susan Duff Picture

Susan Duff, EdD, PT, OT/L, CHT
duff@chapman.edu

Dr. Duff is an Associate Professor in the Department of Physical Therapy in Crean College of Health and Behavioral Sciences.

Scot Danforth Picture

Scot Danforth, Ph.D.
danforth@chapman.edu

Dr. Danforth is a Professor and Assistant Dean of Research in College of Educational Studies.  

Susan Emerson

Michael Johnson

Michael is the non-affiliated community member.

Alternate Members

Souhiela Fawaz

Souhiela Fawaz, Pharm.D.
sfawaz@chapman.edu

Dr. Fawaz is an Assistant Professor in the School of Pharmacy. 

Administrators

Natalie Del Rio

Natalie Del Rio
ndelrio@chapman.edu

IRB/FCOI Administrator
Natalie Del Rio specializes in providing oversight for research using human subjects.

Natalie Del Rio

Dawn Underwood, Ph.D

Assistant Vice President for Research

Tom Piechota

Tom Piechota, Ph.D., PE

Institutional Official
Tom Piechota is the Vice President for Research.

 

Note: Members are appointed for a 3-year term and may renew appointment for one additional term.

Save