» Paulo Freire Democratic Project Awards

Dr. Donado Marcedo receiving the 2014 Paulo Freire Democratic Project Award for Social JusticeThe Paulo Freire Democratic Project awards are given to individuals and organizations that embody the life and legacy of Paulo Freire, to those who, in his eyes, "dare to teach." They honor both individuals and organizations characterized by intellectual excellence, ethical concern, and deep commitment to the creation, nurturing, and sustainability of fair and just communities regardless of location. "Teachers" herein is not restricted to those associated with formal educational institutions but rather refers to individuals described by Freire as "cultural workers," as "those who dare to teach" in whatever context they find themselves.

Toggle Section

2019 Paulo Freire Democratic Project Award of Social Justice Recipients

Individual: Dr. George Sefa Dei

George Sefa Dei is Professor of Humanities, Social Sciences, and Social Justice Education at the Ontario Institute for Studies (OISE) in Education of the University of Toronto and a co-chair of  the African Community Networking Committee,  an organization dedicated to the economic and social enhancement of African peoples in Canada. He served as the director of the Centre for Integrative Anti-Racism Studies at OISE. He is known for his antiracist research, particularly on antiracist approaches to education, and for his advocacy for African-focused schools in Canada. 

Institution: Black Lives Matter, Toronto Chapter

The vision of BLM Toronto is "to be a platform upon which black communities across Toronto can actively dismantle all forms of anti-black racism, liberate blackness, support black healing, affirm black existence, and create freedom to love and self- determine." Their mission is to "forge critical connections and to work in solidarity with black communities, black-centric networks, solidarity movements, and allies in order to dismantle all forms of state-sanctioned oppression, violence, and brutality committed against African, Caribbean, and Black cis, queer, trans, and disabled populations in Toronto."