group of people talking
University Honors Program

» University Honors Program

+ - Director

Cpeters

Carmichael Peters, Ph.D.
Director, University Honors Program

(714) 744-7613
cpeters@chapman.edu
Office: DeMille Hall 163

Courses:
HON 202: On Being Ethical in the World
HON 216: Twilight of the Gods
HON 208: Honors Forum
HON 335: The Enigma of Being Awake: Zen Buddhism
HON 409: Hermes Unbound: Divining Hermeneutics
HON 498: Honors Capstone

+ - Honors Faculty

Dr. Ian BarnardIan Barnard
Associate Professor, English 

(714) 516-5775
barnard@chapman.edu

Courses: 
HON 242: Beyoncé, Madonna and Nina Simone
HON 377: Critical Animal Studies
HON 432: Queer Theory

 


Dr. Jocelyn L. BucknerJocelyn L. Buckner, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Department of Theater 

(714) 289-2084
jbuckner@chapman.edu

Office: Moulton Hall 211

Course:
HON 360: Performing America(s): Creating, Celebrating, and Contesting nationhood in U.S. Theatre and Popular Entertainment

 


Dr. Federic CaporasoFredric Caporaso, Ph.D. 
Professor of Food Science

(714) 997-6638
caporaso@chapman.edu
Office: Hashinger Science Center 216

Course:
HON 207: Darwin's Evolutionary Theory: The Science and the Controversy

 


Marisa S. Cianciarulo, J.D.

Marisa S. Cianciarulo, J.D.
Associate Professor of Law

(714) 628-2612
cianciar@chapman.edu
Office: Kennedy Hall 440

Course:
HON 345: Immigration and Refugee Law and Policy

 


Dr. Sean Heim

Sean Heim, Ph.D.
Instructor of Music Theory/Composition
Associate Professor of Music

(714) 744-7829
heim@chapman.edu
Office: Oliphant Hall 306  

Courses:
HON 333: Creativity and the Human Condition
HON 347: Listening to Time: Area Studies in Ethnomusicology

 


Dr. Barnard McGrane

Bernard McGrane, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Sociology

(714) 997-6564
mcgrane@chapman.edu
Office: Roosevelt Hall 216

Courses:
HON 206: Media, Self and Society
HON 209: Death, Self and Society
HON 218: Social Movement of the Sixties
HON 392: Adventures in Cosmologies
HON 416: Sex, Self and Society

 


Domenico NapoletaniDomenico Napoletani, Ph.D. 
Research Professor, University Honors Program

Courses: 
HON 310: Experiencing Forms and Colors: Goethe's Approach to Science
HON 367: Pythagoras Revisited: A Quest for Interior Precision
HON 385: Is Big Data Enough? A Conceptual Exploration of Data Science

 


Dr. Federico M. Pacchioni

Federico Pacchioni
Associate Professor, World Languages and Cultures 

(714) 744-7846
pacchion@chapman.edu

Course: 
HON 314: Dante's Afterlife
HON 315: Power and Imagination in the Italian Renaissance
HON 371: The World of Fellini’s Cinema
HON 373: The Puppet Metaphor Across Media
HON 455: Interpreting the Past: An Experience of Rome (Travel Course) 

 


Dr. Daniele Struppa

Daniele C. Struppa, Ph.D.
President of Chapman University
Professor of Mathematics and Computer Science

(714) 997-6826
struppa@chapman.edu
Office: Memorial Hall 114

Courses:
HON 321: The New Mathematics of the Italian Renaissance
HON 322: The Birth of Calculus: History of an Idea
HON 329: Euclid's Geometry: An Elementary Mathematical Theory from a (Relatively) Superior Point of View
HON 329: Beyond Real Numbers

 


Dr. Justine Van Meter

Justine Van Meter, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of English

(714) 997-6634
vanmeter@chapman.edu
Office: DeMille Hall 150B

Courses:
HON 210: Monsters and Monstrosities
HON 277: Game of Thrones: Beyond the Wall 
HON 338: Thana Tourism: Traveling the Dark Side
HON 344: Illustrating History/the World: Graphic Memoirs, Novels, and Reportage
HON 412: "Seas of Stories": Postcolonial Literature and Theory
HON 447: The "Real" Westeros: Game of Thrones and Northern Ireland (Travel Course)

 


Walker_Jessica

Jessica M. Walker, Ph. D.
Assistant Professor, Instructional Faculty 
Crean College of Health and Behavioral Sciences; Department of Psychology

(714) 516-5163
jewalker@chapman.edu
Office: Crean Hall 104

 


Dr. Michael S. WoodDr. Michael S. Wood
Assistant Professor, World Languages and Culture 

(714) 997-6842
mwood@chapman.edu

Courses: 
HON 240: Anime and War
HON 363: The Castaway Narrative in World Literature

+ - Honors Affiliated Faculty

Amir Ahsan

Amir Ahsan
Associate Professor, Mathematics and Computer Science, Schmid College of Science and Technology
 
(714) 516-5915
ahsan@chapman.edu


Courses:
HON 329: Origins


Quaylen AllenQuaylan Allen
Associate Professor, Educational Studies Attallah College of Educational Studies
 
qallen@chapman.edu

Courses:
HON 329: History of Hip Hop
 
Dr. Alexander BayAlex Bay
Associate Professor, History, Wilkinson College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences
 
(714) 744-2136
bay@chapman.edu 
 
Courses:
HON 369: Politics of Waste
 

bidmeadJulye Bidmead, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Religious Studies

(714) 532-7709
bidmead@chapman.edu
Office: Wilkinson Hall 234


Courses:
HON 220: Disney: Gender, Race and Religion
HON 366: Deities and Demons: Ancient and Modern
 
John BoitanoJohn Boitano
Associate Professor, Chair, Department of World Languages and Culture, Wilkinson College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences
 
(714) 997-6797
jboitano@chapman.edu 
 
Courses:
HON 427: Topics in the Great Operas of the Western Tradition
 

Dr. Walter TschacherVictoria Carty
Associate Professor, Sociology, Wilkinson College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

(714) 744-2137 
carty@chapman.edu 

Course:
HON 280: Honors Forum
 
Dr. Brian GlaserBrian Glaser
Assistant Professor, English, Wilkinson College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences
 
(714) 997-6689
bglaser@chapman.edu 
 
Course:
HON 222: Honors Composition: Rhetorical Agency Across Genres
 
Jack HornerJack Horner
Presidential Fellow

horner@chapman.edu
 
Course: 
HON 275: Thinking Outside the Box
HON 286: Origins
 

Julie JennerJulie Jenner
Assistant Professor, English, Wilkinson College of Humanities and Social Sciences

jenner@chapman.edu 

Courses: 
HON 222: Honors Composition: Rhetorical Agency Across Genres

 


Susan KeySusan Key
Lecturer
Coordinator, Chapman-Pacific Symphony Partnership
College of Performing Arts; Hall-Musco Conservatory of Music



Course:
HON 419: The Search for an American Voice: Huck Finn to Harlem
HON 266: Sound and Spirit
HON 313: Golden Opportunities: Immigration and the Arts in Southern California,
1900-1950
 
Dr. Kent LehnofKent Lehnhof 
Professor, English, Wilkinson College of Humanities and Social Sciences
 
(714) 628-2746
lehnof@chapman.edu 
 
Course:
HON 288: Close Reading
HON 292: The Art of Revenge
 

Dr. Zoltan C. MesterZoltan Mester
Adjunct, Chemistry

(714) 628-2862
mester@chapman.edu

Course:
HON 376: Sustainability in an Unsustainably Structured World
 


Dr. G. Michael PaceG. Michael Pace, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Chair, Department of Philosophy

(714) 744-7932
pace@chapman.edu
Office: Wilkinson Hall 233
 
Course:
HON 280: Honors Forum
HON 359: Fundamentals of Deductive and Inductive Logic
 
Dr. Marco PanzaMarco Panza
Schmid College of Science and Technology
Wilkinson College of Humanities and Social Sciences
 
panza@chapman.edu 
 
Course:
HON 329: From Natural to Real Numbers
HON 329: Euclid’s Geometry: An Elementary Mathematical Theory from a (Relatively) Superior Point of View
HON 329: Beyond Real Numbers
HON 395H: Newton and the Scientific Revolution
 
Dr. Louise ThomasLouise Thomas
Professor, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
College of Performing Arts, Hall-Musco Conservatory of Music
 
(714) 744-7066
thomas@chapman.edu 
 
Course:
HON 427: Topics in the Great Operas of the Western Tradition
 

Adrian Vajiac

Adrian Vajiac, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Schmid College of Science and Technology
Mathematics and Computer Science

(714) 997-6898
avajiac@chapman.edu
Office: Von Neumann Hall 103

Course:
HON 382: Fabric of the Universe: Space, Time, and Reality
 
Dr. Charles WebelCharles Webel
Professor, Peace Studies, Wilkinson College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences
 
webel@chapman.edu 
Office: Roosevelt Hall, Room 253

Courses:
HON 362: Philosophical Themes in the Films of Ingmar Bergman