• Students compose music in a classroom
Hall-Musco Conservatory of Music

B.M. in Music Composition

» Bachelor of Music in Composition

Prepare for a career as a composer with a program that emphasizes technical facility, creativity and the development of your own artistic voice.

You’ll learn modern approaches and techniques of music making while broadening your musical horizons through the academic study of music theory, music history and music technology. You'll also be able to choose an emphasis in either concert music or electroacoustic music.

A student plays a keyboardIn this program, you will:

  • Become fluent in musicianship skills, including music theory, aural skills and sight reading.
  • Learn about different musical styles and historical eras.
  • Generate a portfolio of original compositions for various ensembles and media and present them publicly.
  • Develop an understanding of musical performance and a sense of professionalism when rehearsing and presenting your work.

Three students play instruments while a professor conducts

By the time you graduate, you'll be prepared to:

  • Have your works performed professionally throughout the United States and abroad.
  • Continue your studies in composition and related fields at top institutions at the graduate level.
  • Apply for and receive fellowships, commissions and awards for your compositions.

Performance and Composition Opportunities

As a Music Composition major, your work will be performed by the many music ensembles on campus, including: 

  • New Music Ensemble
  • Percussion Ensemble
  • Pop Ensemble
  • Jazz Combo
  • Ensemble-in-Residence Program (including the Da Capo Chamber Players, Penderecki String Quartet, Firebird Ensemble, Moscow Contemporary Music Ensemble, etc.)

All works written by students are read and/or performed, and recorded.

Other Perks

  • Work under the guidance of Chapman’s internationally renowned composition faculty.
  • Learn and perform in our multiple on-campus venues, including the 1,044 seat, state-of-the-art Musco Center, one of the finest performance venues on the west coast.

Expand the breadth of your degree by adding one of our music minors, including Music Technology, Music Business, Film Music, and General Music.

Admission and Tours

All applicants are required to submit the Common Application, a Creative Supplement (including a portfolio of your compositions) and an audition video. You may also be asked to perform a live audition by invitation. You can learn more about applying here. While you consider Chapman, come visit us in person:

Related Programs

You can explore all of Chapman’s undergraduate majors and minors with our program finder.

Contact Us

Program Questions
Sean Heim, Ph.D.
Director of Music Theory/Composition

Admission Questions

Conservatory Camps and Festivals

Check out the multiple festivals and special events for high school students throughout the academic year.

College of Performing Arts Blog

Get the latest info on the people and productions that make our school shine.