» Chapman Diversity Project

Sponsored by the Office of the Provost

The Chapman Diversity Project endeavors to bring students, staff, faculty, administrators, alumni, community members, and trustees together for meaningful dialogue focused on developing strategic priorities and recommendations for diversity and inclusion at Chapman. This initiative began in Fall of 2014 and is sponsored by the Office of the Provost. Members of the Chapman Diversity Project Advisory Groups, Task Forces and Response Committee are guided by best practices and current research while connecting efforts with Chapman structures, staffing and resources.

+ - Advisory Groups

Chapman's Advisory Groups evaluate and recommend services, policies and programs for enhancing diversity and inclusion. Each Advisory Group is comprised of students, staff, faculty, administrators and trustees and is open to people of all identities. The Advisory Groups:

  • identify, recommend and support creative strategies for promoting and enhancing campus diversity
  • respond to issues, needs and concerns identified within the community of focus
  • establish effective and collaborative working relationships between departments, offices, committees and initiatives
  • advise the Provost of Chapman University and campus community stakeholders on issues for each respective constituency 

In order to do this, the Advisory Groups bring together information on the climate of the university as well as on the status of each constituency they work to support.

The Eight Advisory Groups at Chapman University are:

Advisory Group on the Status of Disability & Accessibility
Art Blaser
Faculty Co-Chair
blaser@chapman.edu

Jana Remy
Staff Co-Chair
remy@chapman.edu

Greg Tyler
Undergraduate Student Co-Chair
gtyler@chapman.edu

Chelsea Dempsey
Staff Co-Chair 
dempsey@chapman.edu 

Advisory Group on the Status of Faith, Spirituality, & Secularism
Diane Eisenberg 
Staff Co-Chair 
deisen@chapman.edu

Ashley Cosgrove 
Staff Co-Chair 
cosgrove@chapman.edu

Meets the first Tuesday of each month at 11:00 a.m. beginning September 4

Advisory Group on the Status of International Communities
Carolyn Nih
Staff Co-Chair
yeung@chapman.edu

Meets the third Thursday of each month at 10:30 a.m. beginning September 20

Advisory Group on the Status of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, & Queer Communities                  
Keilani Spahn 
Student Co-Chair 
spahn101@mail.chapman.edu 

Kris De Pedro
Faculty Co-Chair
depedro@chapman.edu

Nancy Brink
Staff Co-Chair
brink@chapman.edu

Meets the second Tuesday of each month at 3:00 p.m. beginning September 13

Advisory Group on the Status of Military Affiliates
Andy Sison
Staff Co-Chair
sison@chapman.edu

Hernan Martinez
Undergraduate Student Co-Chair 
hmartinez@chapman.edu

Phill Hall 
Staff Co-Chair 
phall@chapman.edu

Ted Kavich
Alumni Co-Chair 
kavic101@mail.chapman.edu 

Meets every other Wednesday at 1:00 p.m. beginning September 19

Advisory Group on the Status of People of Color  
Carlos Lopez
Staff/Faculty Co-Chair
carlopez@chapman.edu

Marissa Tobias
Staff Co-Chair
tobias@chapman.edu

Meets September 13 at 10:00 a.m., October 9 and October 30 at 2:00 p.m., November 20 and December 6 at 10:00 a.m. 

Advisory Group on the Status of Socio-economic Stratification
Crystal De La Riva
Staff Co-Chair
delariva@chapman.edu

Ryan Boudreau 
Staff Co-Chair 
boudreau@chapman.edu

Meets every other Tuesday at 11:00 a.m. beginning October 9

Advisory Group on the Status of Women 
Alisa Driscoll 
Student Co-Chair 
driscoll@chapman.edu

Kristin Beavers
Staff Co-Chair
kbeavers@chapman.edu

Gwyn Fraley
Student Co-Chair 
frale104@mail.chapman.edu

Meets September 6, October 4, November 2, and December 6 at 2:00 p.m.  

+ - Task Forces

The Five Task Forces:
  • seek to identify pressing issues related to each area of institutional focus
  • research best practices and possible responses to identified issues
  • build strategic recommendations that are both short and longer term
  • communicate with departments that may be involved with any strategic recommendations to develop initiatives that align with existing programs, services, structures, staffing and resources

Chapman's Five Task Forces are:

Communications and Perceptions
Looks at how Chapman is perceived in the areas of diversity and inclusion, both internally and externally.  The group will examine survey data gathered from faculty, staff and students, as well as look at the signals and communication we send as an institution that shape perceptions.

Not meeting during the 2018-2019 academic year. 

Community 
Looks at diversity and inclusion from the perspective of the campus community, focusing on both on and off-campus community partnerships and relationships, internal and external recruitment pipelines, co-curricular programming and student communities.

Rick Gonzalez
Staff Co-Chair
rigonzalez@chapman.edu

Ruben Espinoza
Faculty Co-Chair
respinoza@chapman.edu 

Meets September 26, October 31, November 28, and December 12 at 11:00 a.m.

Curriculum 
Looks at Chapman's curriculum in a variety of ways in an effort to enhance the themes of diversity and inclusion across all disciplines through diversity infusion and inclusive pedagogy and assess cultural and ethnic studies offerings. 

Wendy Salmond
Faculty Co-Chair
salmond@chapman.edu

Jacky Dang 
Undergraduate Student Co-Chair 
dang134@mail.chapman.edu 

Meets every other Friday at 11:00 a.m. beginning September 7

Demographics
Focuses on compositional diversity among all of our constituent groups at Chapman including students, staff, faculty, administrators and trustee levels. 

Not meeting during the 2018-2019 academic year. 

Physical Space
Looks at creating a physical environment that is inclusive and diverse both in welcoming and including underrepresented identities and considering accessibility.  The group will examine buildings, public spaces, classrooms, bathrooms, signage, artwork, quotes, goods, services and images which shape the physical experience of the campus for underrepresented groups.  

Not meeting during the 2018-2019 academic year.

Contact Us

Erin Pullin
Director of Diversity & Inclusion
Office of the Provost
(714) 628-2821
pullin@chapman.edu

Interested in Participating Virtually?

If you are interested in joining a group but are unable to attend in person, we offer the option to participate virtually in meetings through video or telephone conference calling. To find more information about this, please contact us

Join the Chapman Diversity Project!

Fill out this form on Engage to share your areas of interest and we will connect you with opportunities to engage with the initiative. 

Chapman Magazine

Read the article on the Chapman Diversity Project, titled A Culture of Inclusion by Dennis Arp.