» Chapman Diversity Project

Sponsored by the Office of the Provost

The Chapman Diversity Project endeavors to bring students, staff, faculty, administrators and trustees together for meaningful dialogue focused on developing strategic priorities and recommendations for diversity and inclusion at Chapman. This initiative began in Fall of 2014 and is sponsored by the Office of the Provost. Members of the Chapman Diversity Response Committee are guided by best practices and current research while connecting efforts with Chapman structures, staffing and resources.

Advisory Groups

Chapman’s Advisory Groups evaluate and recommend services, policies and programs for enhancing diversity and inclusion. Each Advisory Group is comprised of students, staff, faculty, administrators and trustees and is open to people of all identities.

The Advisory Groups:

  • identify, recommend and support creative strategies for promoting and enhancing campus diversity
  • respond to issues, needs and concerns identified within the community of focus
  • establish effective and collaborative working relationships between departments, offices, committees and initiatives
  • advise the Chancellor of Chapman University and Chapman Diversity Response Committee on issues for each respective constituency

In order to do this, the Advisory Groups bring together information on the climate of the university as well as on the status of each constituency they work to support.

The Eight Advisory Groups at Chapman University are:

Advisory Group on the Status of Disability & Accessibility
Meets Tuesdays, 2-3 p.m., every three weeks

Art Blaser
Faculty Co-Chair
blaser@chapman.edu

Jana Remy
Staff Co-Chair
remy@chapman.edu 

Einat Ben Dov
Graduate Student Co-Chair
bendo101@mail.chapman.edu

Greg Tyler
Undergraduate Student Co-Chair
gtyler@chapman.edu 

Advisory Group on the Status of Faith, Spirituality, & Secularism
Meets Wednesdays, 3-4 p.m., every two weeks

Diane Eisenberg
Staff Co-Chair
deisen@chapman.edu

Ashley Cosgrove
Staff Co-Chair
cosgrove@chapman.edu 

Advisory Group on the Status of International Communities
Meets Thursdays, 2-3 p.m., once per month

Carolyn Nih
Staff Co-Chair
yeung@chapman.edu

Robyne Kelly
Staff Co-Chair
rokelly@chapman.edu

Advisory Group on the Status of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, & Queer Communities  

Meets Wednesdays, 2:30-3:30 p.m., every three weeks
Aaron Chen
Student Co-Chair
chen403@mail.chapman.edu

Kris De Pedro
Faculty Co-Chair
depedro@chapman.edu 

Nancy Brink
Staff Co-Chair
brink@chapman.edu

Advisory Group on the Status of Military Affiliates
Meets Thursdays, 4-5 p.m., every two weeks

Andy Sison
Staff Co-Chair
sison@chapman.edu

Ryan King
Student Co-Chair
king252@mail.chapman.edu

Advisory Group on the Status of People of Color

Meets Thursdays, 10-11 a.m., every two weeks

Carlos Lopez
Staff Co-Chair
carlopez@chapman.edu

Advisory Group on the Status of  Socio-economic Stratification
Meets Tuesdays, 11 a.m.-12 p.m., every two weeks

Crystal De La Riva
Staff Co-Chair
delariva@chapman.edu

Jennifer Ascencio
Student Co-Chair
ascen104@mail.chapman.edu 

Advisory Group on the Status of Women
Meets Mondays, 1-2 p.m, every two weeks

Alisa Driscoll
Student Co-Chair
driscoll@chapman.edu

Denise Johnson
Faculty Co-Chair
denjohns@chapman.edu

Kristin Beavers
Staff Co-Chair
kbeavers@chapman.edu

Task Forces

The Five Task Forces:

  • seek to identify pressing issues related to each area of institutional focus
  • research best practices and possible responses to identified issues
  • build strategic recommendations that are both short and longer term
  • communicate with departments that may be involved with any strategic recommendations to develop initiatives that align with existing programs, services, structures, staffing and resources

Chapman's Five Task Forces are:

Communications and Perceptions
Looks at how Chapman is perceived in the areas of diversity and inclusion, both internally and externally.  The group will examine survey data gathered from faculty, staff and students, as well as look at the signals and communication we send as an institution that shape perceptions.
Meets Mondays, 2-3 p.m., once per month

Hallie Nicholson
Staff Co-Chair
nicholso@chapman.edu 

Jason Keller
Faculty Co-Chair
jkeller@chapman.edu

Community
Looks at diversity and inclusion from the perspective of the campus community, focusing on both on and off-campus community partnerships and relationships, internal and external recruitment pipelines, co-curricular programming and student communities.
Meets Wednesdays, 12-1 p.m., once per month

Joe Slowensky
Faculty Co-Chair
jslowens@chapman.edu

Otniel Pavia
Staff/Alum Co-Chair
pavia@chapman.edu

Rick Gonzalez
Staff Co-Chair
rigonzalez@chapman.edu

Curriculum
Looks at Chapman’s curriculum in a variety of ways in an effort to enhance the themes of diversity and inclusion across all disciplines through diversity infusion and inclusive pedagogy and assess cultural and ethnic studies offerings. 
Meets Thursdays, 4-5 p.m., every two weeks

Kyler Asato
Student Co-Chair
asato105@mail.chapman.edu

Wendy Salmond
Faculty Co-Chair
salmond@chapman.edu 

Demographics
Focuses on compositional diversity among all of our constituent groups at Chapman including students, staff, faculty, administrators and trustee levels. 
Not meeting during the 2017-2018 academic year. 

Physical Space
Looks at creating a physical environment that is inclusive and diverse both in welcoming and including underrepresented identities and considering accessibility.  The group will examine buildings, public spaces, classrooms, bathrooms, signage, artwork, quotes, goods, services and images which shape the physical experience of the campus for underrepresented groups.  
Not meeting during the 2017-2018 academic year. 

Contact Us

Erin Pullin
Director of Diversity & Inclusion
Office of the Provost
(714) 628-2821
pullin@chapman.edu

Interested in Participating Virtually?

If you are interested in joining a group but are unable to attend in person, we offer the option to participate virtually in meetings through video or telephone conference calling. To find more information about this, please contact us

Join the Chapman Diversity Project!

Fill out this form on OrgSync to share your areas of interest and we will connect you with opportunities to engage with the initiative. 

Chapman Magazine

Read the article on the Chapman Diversity Project, titled A Culture of Inclusion by Dennis Arp.