» Advocates at Chapman

Below is a list of staff, faculty and administrators who are advocates for student diversity, equity and inclusion at Chapman. The people in these lists have committed to being an open door and advocate for students from underrepresented communities. 

Everyone on this list of self-identified advocates has agreed to be an open contact for students for support and advocacy. While not all of the people listed below are a part of the communities they support, they feel passionately that each student should feel welcomed and able to access the resources they need at Chapman. 


Toggle Section

In the Division of Student Affairs, there are many staff whose responsibilities include responding to any Chapman student with whatever needs or concerns they present. As a result, staff members in the following offices have not been individually identified on the above lists, but are available as resources and advocates.

Would you like to be featured on this list?


If you would like to be featured as a self-identified advocate for underrepresented communities at Chapman, please complete the Advocates at Chapman form.

Brian K. Powell, JD
Vice President and Chief Human Resources Officer
Presidential Advisor on Staff Diversification
Pronouns: he/him/his
(714) 997-6779
powell@chapman.edu

Dr. Lawrence Brown
Professor, Vice Provost for Academic Administration
Presidential Advisor on Faculty Diversification
(714) 628-2876
lbbrown@chapman.edu

Albert Roberson
Equal Opportunity & Diversity Officer
Human Resources
Pronouns: he, him, his
(714) 997-6847
aroberson@chapman.edu

Joe Slowensky
Vice Provost for Institutional Effectiveness and Faculty Affairs
Office of the Provost
(714) 744-7882
jslowens@chapman.edu

Justin Riley
Associate Director for Student Community Support and Development
Office of the Dean of Students
Pronouns: he, him, his
(714) 997-6671
juriley@chapman.edu 

Tim Topper
Program Coordinator
Cross-Cultural Center
Pronouns: he, him, his
(714) 628-2744
topper@chapman.edu 

Shishei Tsang
Program Coordinator
Cross-Cultural Center
Pronouns: she, her, hers
(714) 628-7242
ystsang@chapman.edu