» Wilkinson College Dean's Executive Council

The mission of the Dean’s Executive Council (DEC) is to provide support, advocacy, advice, and guidance for the Wilkinson College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences at Chapman University.  The Council’s role is advisory to the College, Dean, Associate Deans, and the University Advancement office. They help the College in continuing development and advancement of its undergraduate and graduate programs. The Council serves as an advocacy group both on campus and off and assists in promoting a positive image and good relations for the College with the rest of the University and the region, state, and nation and in relating the students and faculty of the College to society at large.

+ - Current DEC Board Members

More Bios and photos coming soon!


Mark Chapin Johnson (Chair)

Founder, Chairman and CEO of the Mark Chapin Johnson Foundation, a 501(C3) Public Benefit Foundation active in various philanthropic activities. The Foundation has distributed several million dollars to a variety of community organizations nationally.


Rich Fair

Mr. Fair began his advertising career as an art director 30 years ago. Since then, he has branched out into every area of the creative process, spearheading branding, print, and electronic campaigns for clients in every corner of the healthcare marketing arena. He has personally worked on over 800 brands across 200 companies. Before Co-Founding Square 1, he was Chief Creative Director of Ignite Health, the agency he also co-founded in 2000.

david Henley

David Henley

David C. Henley has been a member of the Board of Trustees of Chapman University since May, 1994. Henley is a foreign correspondent, the former owner of a group of Northern Nevada and California daily and weekly newspapers, a retired Brigadier General in the Army National Guard, a former university administrator and journalism professor, and has been serving as Honorary Consul of Uruguay since 1999. He also is a past president of the Nevada Press Association. He was city editor of the Daily Trojan student newspaper at USC, from which he earned a BA in journalism and an MA in political science. He also has a PhD in communications and journalism and was awarded a postdoctoral fellowship at UCLA. Read more about Mr. Henley!


Larry & Dulcie Kugelman

Larry and Dulcie Kugelman have a long history contributing to the advancement of people and their communities. Based on their own experiences, the Chapman couple created the Peace Builders Fund. Through the Peace Builders Fund, they support the Peace Studies program at Chapman University and fund peace-building awards that support student travel. Read more about Mr. and Mrs. Kugelman!

Moderow Karen Moderow

Content Director for the Brain Injury Resource Center, a comprehensive web-based resource for people with brain injuries launched September 17, 2003 and integrated into the national Brain Injury Association (BIA) website. Worked with medical and rehabilitation professionals who submitted content for the site. Responsibilities included article development, editing, and oversight of web publishing as well as writing original material and ghost writing for medical experts.

Munoz Jayne & Ed Munoz
Stewart Newton

Sturart Newton

With more than 25 years of experience in sales and sales leadership roles, Stuart serves as a business development executive for Deloitte, focusing on the middle market for Northern California. Stuart is also a leader of Deloitte’s Board Member initiative to assist public company executives in securing seats on private and public company boards. Stuart has worked for a variety of organizations, from venture-backed startups to Fortune 1000 companies. Prior to Deloitte, he led business development efforts in Northern California for BDO, a top 10 national accounting firm. Previous to BDO, Stuart co-founded Unfair Advantage (UAI), a revenue acceleration company, which helped organizations increase revenue in less than 120 days via a proprietary model. Clients attributed millions of dollars to the implementation of the model and, in 2003, UAI was acquired by the Southwestern Company, one of the country’s oldest and most respected sales and marketing companies. Stuart has also held executive leadership positions with MP3.com, Centura Software and Metricom.


John Scudder

John Scudder

John Scudder is the president of the Marjorie Mosher Schmidt Foundation.  John and his brothers are involved in farming operations in North County, San Diego, growing flowers and avocados.  John’s family has been in the food manufacturing business since the 1920's, his grandmother was the potato chip queen, Laura Scudder.


Silverman Ginger Silverman

Ginger Silverman is a nationally known marketer and expert in the field of marketing and corporate communications. For over 20 years, she has been a senior marketing executive for several leading Fortune 1000 corporations including Pizza Hut, Taco Bell, HomeBase, Prudential Real Estate, Ogilvy & Mather Advertising, and Lindora Medical Weight Control. Her experience crosses many industries – consumer goods, cosmeceuticals, medical weight loss and medical devices. Her experience as a senior leader for large, established companies and small, entrepreneurial ventures led her to establish Aha! Unlimited Consulting, Inc. Currently, she is Vice President of Marketing for Argosy University.

+ - Past DEC Board Members

  • Alan Buckelew
  • John Copeland
  • Russell Evans
  • Frank Gutierrez
  • Nicole Hernandez
  • Jason Hiller
  • Kathi Jensen
  • Sinan Kanatsiz
  • Karl Karlsson
  • Jason Krotz
  • Erik Lakeman-Doesburg
  • Michael Saad
  • Gene Smith
  • Jeff Torkelson
  • Michael Traub
  • Kathy Ummel
  • Darryl & Celeste Woo
  • Featured
  • News
  • Events