headshot photo of James Blaylock

James Blaylock

Professor, Wang-Fradkin Professorship in Scholarly Excellence (2000-2002)
Wilkinson College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences; Department of English
Office Location: Wilkinson Hall 24C
Office Hours: T/TH 7:30 -8:30 a.m., 9:45 -11 a.m..; W 3-4 p.m.
Phone: (714) 744-7916
California State University, Fullerton, Bachelor of Arts
California State University, Fullerton, Master of Arts


James Blaylock has been a writing teacher since 1976, about the same time that he sold his short story "The Pink of Fading Neon" to the literary magazine TriQuarterly. Since then he has published 25 books over the years, both novels and short story collections. Story collections include Thirteen Phantasms (2000), In for a Penny (2003), and The Devils in the Details (2003), co-written with Tim Powers. Novels set in southern California include The Rainy Season (1999), Winter Tides (1997), All the Bells on Earth (1995), Night Relics (1994), and The Last Coin (1988). Translations of his work have appeared around the world, most recently in Russia and Japan. Blaylock is twice winner of the World Fantasy Award, and he received the Phillip K. Dick Memorial Award for his novel Homunculus (1986). His story "Unidentified Objects" was included in Prize Stories 1990, the O. Henry Awards. According to the Library Journal, "Blaylock's evocative prose and studied pacing make him one of the most distinctive contributors to American magical realism."

Recent Creative, Scholarly Work and Publications

Blaylock, James. The Gobblin' Society, 2020: Burton, Michigan, Subterranean Press. Print
Blaylock, James. "The Infallible Continuum," Poets & Writers, Kevin Larimer, ed. Nov/Dec 2020 (personal essay on teaching creative writing and the writer's life)
Blaylock, James. "My Life in Books," Poets and Writers," Kevn Larimer, ed. July/August 2019 (personal essay reflecting on the revelations of a writer's library)
Blaylock, James. "The Tale of the Traveling Chicken,"Poets and Writers," Kevin Larimer, ed. July/August 2018 (Essay on the art of writing fiction)
Blaylock, James. "The Alternatives," Coast Magazine, Samantha Dunn, ed. July 2018 (Personal narrative essay)
Blaylock, James. "The Treehouse," Orange Coast Magazine, Alan Gibbons, ed. June 2018 (Personal essay)
Blaylock, James. "By the Book," Coast Magazine, Samantha Dunn, ed. April, 2018 (Personal essay about growing up as a reader and writer)
Blaylock, James. "Leaves," Southwest Review, Greg Brownderville, ed. Volume 3, Number 22, 2018 (Personal essay about the death of my father)
Blaylock, James. River's Edge, 2017: Burton, Michigan, Subterranean Press. Print
Blaylock, James. The Further Adventures of Langdon St. Ives. 2016: Burton, MI: Subterranean Press, 2016. Print
Blaylock, James. Homunculus. 2016: Paris, Braggelone. (French Translation) Print
Blaylock, James. Beneath London. London: Titan Books, 2015. Print
Blaylock, James. The Ring of Stones. Burton, MI: Subterranean Press, 2014. Print
The Aylesford Skull, novel, published by Titan Books, London
e-rights to 12 backlist novels sold to JABerwocky Books for North American publication
Zeuglodon, The True Adventures of Kathleen Perkins, Cryptozoologist, young adult novel published in hardcover by Subterranean Press
"The Ape-box Affair" -- reprint of my first published story, Gingko Press in Steampunk, the Beginning
"My Life in the Steam Trade" -- essay/memoir published by Gingko Press in Steampunk, the Beginning
"Five Hundred Dollars" -- essay/memoir published in A Long and Winding Road, Marlow Weaver, ed., Dzanc Books
"Hans Clinker" -- a signed chapbook, reprint of my first published piece, by Subterranean Press
excerpt from my novel The Last Coin granted to the Australian Council for Educational Research for use in high school examination booklets
"My Steampunk Mind" -- an introduction to Steampunk, an Illustrated History of Fantastical Fiction, Fanciful Film and Other Victorian Visions, Brian J. Robb, ed., Aurum Press, London
"The Ape Box Affair" -- reprint of my first published short story, to The Apes of Wrath, an anthology of ape stories, edited by Richard Klaw, Tachyon Press
"Smithfield" -- a new short story published in Queen Victoria's Book of Spells, Ellen Datlow, ed. Tor Books
Zeuglodon, the True Adventures of Kathleen Perkins, Cryptozoologist, sold to Subterranean Press for 2012 release as an illustrated hardcover.
The Aylesford Sklull, sold to Titan books; work in progress
3 backlist novels (The Last Coin, 1987; The Paper Grail, 1989, and All the Bells on Earth, 1991) sold to Gollancz Books, London, for publication in an omnibus, trade paperback edition, 2012 release
Audio rights to three novels -- The Aylesford Skull, Homunculus, and Lord Kelvin's Machine -- sold to audible.com for future release
"The Affair of the Chalk Cliffs," short novel, published by Subterranean Press in a signed, limited edition.
e-rights to 16 backlist novels sold to Orion Books, London, for 2012 release
"The Ebb Tide," short novel, published by Subterranean Press in a signed, limited edition.
Short story collection published by ISFIC Books, Chicago