» Contact Us

photo of Dr. Roxanne  Miller
Dr. Roxanne Greitz Miller
Director and Professor, Institute for Excellence in Teaching and Learning
Beckman Hall 108
(714) 628-2628 (direct)
Dr. Roxanne Greitz Miller is the Attallah Endowed Professor of Teacher Education and has served as the Director of the Institute for Excellence in Teaching and Learning since 2015.

The following faculty members serve as IETL Ambassadors and support faculty in these units:

photo of Abigail  Patthoff
Abigail Patthoff
Professor, Legal Research and Writing Faculty
Fowler School of Law
Abigail specializes in legal analysis and communication and is teaches courses in legal analysis, advocacy, and judicial writing. She is available to support Fowler School of Law faculty by providing teaching resources regarding in-class writing assignments, problem design, and learning styles.
photo of Dr. Cristina Giannantonio
Dr. Cristina M. Giannantonio
Associate Professor of Management
Argyros School of Business and Economics
Cris primarily teaches courses in human resource and business management in the Argyros school. An experienced teacher through case-based presentations, Cris is interested in a variety of real-world presentation methods and has taught in the undergraduate, graduate, and Freshman Foundations program at Chapman.
photo of Dr. Jennifer Totonchy
Dr. Jennifer Totonchy
Assistant Professor of Immunology and Immunotherapeutics
School of Pharmacy
Jennifer is an Assistant Professor in the School of Pharmacy. She teaches basic science content related to immunology in the PharmD program, and received the 2018-2019 Chapman University Award for Pedagogical Innovation. She is passionate about increasing student engagement and mastery of content by incorporating active learning into her courses. She is a good resource for faculty wanting to use the Rinker Campus Instructional Video Studio to make flipped content for their classes, as well as instructors interested in using case-based active learning to teach basic science concepts.
photo of Dr. Jennifer Waldeck
Dr. Jennifer Waldeck
Associate Professor of Communication
School of Communication
Jennifer specializes in instructional and organizational communication research, with an emphasis on the effective use of new and emerging technologies for learning purposes. She assists faculty in developing their communication skills and has a specific interest in facilitated discussion and community-building in the college classroom, and she is the director of the Graduate Teaching Assistant development program for the School of Communication.
photo of Dr. Caroline Wilson
Dr. Caroline Wilson
Clinical Associate Professor of Health Sciences
Crean College of Health and Behavioral Sciences
Caroline teaches in the Health Science department with specialties in human anatomy and neuroscience. She is a certified Team Based Learning Consultant, an active learning pedagogy that includes class preparation, readiness assessment, and application of real-world activities. She is excited to share knowledge about curriculum development, multiple choice question design, flipped classroom approaches, and the incorporation of technology into the classroom.
photo of Julianne O'Brien
Julianne O'Brien
Professor, Chair, Department of Dance
College of Performing Arts
Julianne has a background in the field of dance as a performer, choreographer, academic leader, and dance educator. Her teaching interests in COPA include somatic practices, history, pedagogy, improvisation, choreography, and arts integration and she is interested in supporting Chapman faculty with approaches to pedagogy that are embodied, integrated, and playful.
photo of Dr. Justine  Van Meter
Dr. Justine Van Meter
Assistant Professor, Instructional Faculty
Wilkinson College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences
Justine has been at Chapman since 2006 and was the recipient of the first award for Outstanding Teaching Junior Professorship (2012-2014). She teaches undergraduate and graduate courses and focuses on interdisciplinarity. She is particularly looking forward to supporting Wilkinson faculty members and to exchanging ideas about course development, the use of visual and technological resources in the classroom, the encouragement of class discussions and student engagement, and/or any other teaching interests.
photo of Dr. Mark  Maier
Dr. Mark Maier
Associate Professor, Director, Leadership Studies Program
College of Educational Studies
Mark has been with Chapman University since 1994 and teaches in the Leadership Studies and Leadership Development programs in the College of Educational Studies. He is intrigued by the role of the teacher in society as well as academia, and the relationship between our cognitive focus as educators and the affective means which trigger the motivation to engage that content.
photo of Dr. Matthew Gartner
Dr. Matthew D. Gartner
Assistant Professor of Chemistry, Instructional Faculty
Schmid College of Science and Technology
Matt is an assistant professor of chemistry in Schmid College and is interested in utilizing active learning strategies in general/introductory level courses. He supports faculty with the Instructional Video Studio and utilizing pre-class assessment/active learning activities in science courses.
photo of Dr. Nam Lee
Dr. Nam Lee
Associate Professor
Lawrence and Kristina Dodge College of Film and Media Arts
Dr. Nam Lee joined Dodge College in 2008 and has been teaching film history and theory, various Asian cinema courses and graduate thesis workshops. Her research interests include genre and local politics in contemporary Korean cinema, politics and cinema, and film director studies, in particular, women directors. Nam is available to support Dodge faculty with general teaching support as well as exploration and understanding of the dynamics of diversity and inclusion in the classroom and curriculum.

The following faculty members and administrators serve on the IETL Advisory Board:

photo of Edward 'Cotton' Coslett
Edward 'Cotton' Coslett
Distance Education Librarian
Leatherby Libraries
photo of Dr. Michael Fahy
Dr. Michael Fahy
Professor of Mathematics and Computer Science & Associate Dean
Schmid College of Science and Technology
photo of Dr. Amy Graziano
Dr. Amy B. Graziano
Associate Professor of Music & Chair, Conservatory of Music
College of Performing Arts
photo of Dr. Donald Kochan
Dr. Donald Kochan
Professor of Law & Associate Dean
Fowler School of Law
photo of Dr. Sara LaBelle
Dr. Sara LaBelle
Assistant Professor of Communication
School of Communication
photo of Dr. Kenneth Murphy
Dr. Kenneth E. Murphy
Associate Professor of Business & Associate Provost for Academic Administration
Office of the Provost
photo of Helen  Norris
Helen Norris
Vice President & Chief Information Officer
Office of Information Systems and Technology (IS&T)
photo of Dr. Jana Remy
Dr. Jana Remy
Associate Director
Office of Educational Technology Services
photo of Dr. Melissa Rowland-Goldsmith
Dr. Melissa Rowland-Goldsmith
Instructional Associate Professor of Biological Sciences
Schmid College of Science and Technology & Crean College of Health and Behavioral Sciences
photo of Dr. Wendy Salmond
Dr. Wendy Salmond
Professor of Art
Wilkinson College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences
photo of Michelle Sypinero
Michelle Sypinero
Director of Client Services
Office of Information Systems & Technology (IS&T)

Have a question or need assistance?

Please feel free to contact any of the IETL staff or faculty for assistance. We're here to help. Our general mailbox is IETL@chapman.edu and all messages received will be routed appropriately. 

Click here to schedule an appointment for a consultation with Dr. Miller.

Click here to schedule an appointment in the Instructional Video Studio.

For timely updates and information about our events, follow us (/ChapmanIETL) on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.