» Chapman Diversity Project

Sponsored by the Office of the Provost

The Chapman Diversity Project endeavors to bring students, staff, faculty, administrators and trustees together for meaningful dialogue focused on developing strategic priorities and recommendations for diversity and inclusion at Chapman. This initiative began in Fall of 2014 and is sponsored by the Office of the Provost. Members of the Chapman Diversity Response Committee are guided by best practices and current research while connecting efforts with Chapman structures, staffing and resources.


Advisory Groups

Chapman’s Advisory Groups evaluate and recommend services, policies and programs for enhancing diversity and inclusion. Each Advisory Group is comprised of students, staff, faculty, administrators and trustees and is open to people of all identities.

The Advisory Groups:

  • identify, recommend, and support creative strategies for promoting and enhancing campus diversity
  • respond to issues, needs, and concerns identified within the community of focus
  • establish effective and collaborative working relationships between departments, offices, committees, initiatives
  • advise the Chancellor of Chapman University and Chapman Diversity Response Committee on issues for each respective constituency

In order to do this, the Advisory Groups bring together information on the climate of the university as well as on the status of each constituency they work to support.

The Eight Advisory Groups at Chapman University are:


Advisory Group on the Status of Disabilities & Accessibility

Meets Wednesdays, 1 p.m.-2 p.m., every three weeks

Art Blaser | Faculty Co-Chair | blaser@chapman.edu

Chelsea Dempsey | Staff Co-Chair | dempsey@chapman.edu

Jillian Strong | Alum Co-Chair | jistrong@chapman.edu


Advisory Group on the Status of Faith, Spirituality, & Secularism

Mondays, 4 p.m. - 5 p.m., every two weeks

Diane Eisenberg | Staff Co-Chair | deisen@chapman.edu

Michelle Cooper | Staff Co-Chair | mcooper@chapman.edu

Susanna Branch | Staff Co-Chair | branch@chapman.edu


Advisory Group on the Status of International Communities

Meets Tuesdays, 3:45 p.m.- 4:45 p.m., every two weeks

Oscar Teran | Staff Co-Chair | oteran@chapman.edu

Tyler Samano | Student Co-Chair | saman103@mail.chapman.edu


Advisory Group on the Status of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, & Queer Communities  

Meets Tuesdays, 2 p.m.-3 p.m., every three weeks

Kris De Pedro | Faculty Co-Chair | depedro@chapman.edu

Nancy Brink | Staff Co-Chair | brink@chapman.edu


Advisory Group on the Status of Military Affiliates

Meets Fridays, 1:15 p.m.-2:15 p.m., every two weeks

Andy Sison | Staff Co-Chair | sison@chapman.edu

Kyndra Rotunda | Faculty Co-Chair | krotunda@chapman.edu

Lara McKinley | Alum Co-Chair | mckin117@mail.chapman.edu 

Ryan King | Student Co-Chair | king252@mail.chapman.edu


Advisory Group on the Status of People of Color

Meets Thursdays, 10 a.m.-11 p.m., every two weeks

Farrah Su | Student Co-Chair | su114@mail.chapman.edu

Tekle Woldemikael | Faculty Co-Chair | woldemik@chapman.edu

Traci Mueller | Staff Co-Chair | tmueller@chapman.edu


Advisory Group on the Status of  Socio-economic Stratification

Meets Tuesdays, 11 a.m.-12 p.m., every two weeks

Crystal De La Riva | Staff Co-Chair | delariva@chapman.edu

Jennifer Ascencio | Student Co-Chair | ascen104@mail.chapman.edu 


Advisory Group on the Status of Women

Meeting Time TBD

Colleen Wood | Staff Co-Chair | cwood@chapman.edu


Task Forces

The Five Task Forces:

  • seek to identify pressing issues related to each area of institutional focus
  • research best practices and possible responses to identified issues
  • build strategic recommendations that are both short and longer term
  • communicate with departments that may be involved with any strategic recommendations to develop initiatives that align with existing programs, services, structures, staffing and resources

Chapman's Five Task Forces are:


Communications and Perceptions: Looks at how Chapman is perceived in the areas of diversity and inclusion, both internally and externally.  The group will examine survey data gathered from faculty, staff and students, as well as look at the signals and communication we send as an institution that shape perceptions.

Meets Wednesdays, 2 p.m.-3 p.m., every three weeks

Hallie Nicholson | Staff Co-Chair | nicholso@chapman.edu 

Jason Keller | Faculty Co-Chair | jkeller@chapman.edu

Leon Dominguez-Lukić | Student Co-Chair | chanstu09@chapman.edu


Community: Looks at diversity and inclusion from the perspective of the campus community, focusing on both on and off-campus community partnerships and relationships, internal and external recruitment pipelines, co-curricular programming and student communities.

Meets Wednesdays, 11:30am-12:30 p.m., every two weeks

Joe Slowensky | Faculty Co-Chair | jslowens@chapman.edu

Sam Schlernitzauer | Student Co-Chair | schle120@mail.chapman.edu


Curriculum: Looks at Chapman’s curriculum in a variety of ways in an effort to enhance the themes of diversity and inclusion across all disciplines through diversity infusion and inclusive pedagogy and assess cultural and ethnic studies offerings. 

Meets Wednesdays, 4 p.m.-5:30 p.m., every two weeks

Joe Koluder | Staff Co-Chair | koluder@chapman.edu

Kyler Asato | Student Co-Chair | asato105@mail.chapman.edu

Wendy Salmond | Faculty Co-Chair | salmond@chapman.edu


Demographics: Focuses on compositional diversity among all of our constituent groups at Chapman including students, staff, faculty, administrators and trustee levels. 

Meets Wednesdays, 9 a.m.-10am, every four weeks

C.J. Bishop | Student Co-Chair | bisho105@mail.chapman.edu

Steve Gjerstad | Faculty Co-Chair | gjerstad@chapman.edu


Physical Space: Looks at creating a physical environment that is inclusive and diverse both in welcoming and including underrepresented identities and considering accessibility.  The group will examine buildings, public spaces, classrooms, bathrooms, signage, artwork, quotes, goods, services and images which shape the physical experience of the campus for underrepresented groups.  

Meeting times TBD

Erin Pullin  | Staff Chair | pullin@chapman.edu

Join the Chapman Diversity Project!

Fill out this form on OrgSync to share your areas of interest and we will connect you with opportunities to engage with the initiative. 

Chapman Magazine

Read the article on the Chapman Diversity Project, titled A Culture of Inclusion by Dennis Arp here.