» About the YA80 Conference: “Fundamental Aspects of Quantum Theory: A Two-Time Winner”

The conference will celebrate recent breakthroughs in quantum physics and honor the 80th birthday of Yakir Aharonov.  These subjects will be discussed by some of the most distinguished scientists from all over the world. During the conference, Chapman will also inaugurate a new Institute for Quantum Studies headed by Yakir Aharonov and Jeff Tollaksen.  In another gesture to acknowledge Yakir and his work, Chapman is dedicating an alcove in our library on the evening of August 18. Aharonov received the 2010 National Medal of Science for discovering several cornerstones of modern physics. The Alcove will house the medal and numerous historical items associated with Yakir's research and honors. 

-Dates: August 16 (Thursday evening) through August 18 (Saturday evening), 2012
-Conference location:
Chapman University, 1 University Drive, Orange, CA 92651
Argyros Forum (building #1 on map).  Room: 2nd floor Boardroom
-Hotel: Hilton Anaheim/Orange Suites, telephone: (714) 938-1111
400 N. State College Blvd. Orange, CA 92868 (www.anaheimsuites.hilton.com)
-Transportation from airport: Super shuttle 800-258-3826 (www.supershuttle.com) or
Towncar (714) 765-9871 or Taxi (714) 333-7926 

Inquiries can be made to Doug Dechow at dechow@chapman.edu or phone (714) 532-7781.

Toggle Section

Invited Speakers

Including tentative presentation titles; all talks are 30 minutes including Q&A

Aaronson, Scott

MIT (Title: “The Ghost in the Quantum Turing Machine”)

Aharonov, Yakir 

Chapman University and Emeritus Tel-Aviv University (Title: “A new approach to quantum interference using dynamical nonlocality”)

Berry, Sir Michael

University of Bristol (Title: “Weak Value Probabilities”)

Botero, Alonso

Universidad de los Andes (Title: “Entanglement and weak values: a quantum miracle cookbook”)

Briggs, Andrew

University of Oxford (Title: “Experimental implementations of quantum  paradoxes”)

Casher, Aharon

Chapman/Tel Aviv University (Title: “On the norm of Super-Oscillatory Functions”)

Chiao, Raymond

UC Merced (Title: “Observation of a novel Aharonov-Bohm-like effect in two linked superconducting rings composed of different materials”)

Davies, Paul   

Arizona State University (Title: “Quantum post - selection in cosmology”)

Englert, Francois

Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium

Gefen, Yuval 

Weizmann Institute, Israel (Title: “Weak Values: From Great Expectations to Real Implementations”)

Greene, Brian 

Columbia University

Gisin, Nicolas 

University of Geneva, Switzerland (Title: “Quantum nonlocality based on finite-speed influences leads to signaling”)

Gross, David 

Director, Kavli Institute; UCSB  (2004 Nobel Laureate in Physics)

Hartle, James 


Howell, John

University of Rochester

Jordan, Andrew

University of Rochester (Title: “Weak values: the progression from quantum foundations to tool”)

Leggett, Sir Anthony

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (2003 Nobel Laureate in Physics)

Loyd, Seth

MIT (Title: “Forward to the past: the quantum mechanics of time travel”)

Nussinov, Shmuel 

Chapman/Tel Aviv University (Title: “A pre and post selected network picture for universal evolution”)

Parks, Allen

Naval Surface Warfare Center, Dahlgren (Title: “Weak Energy: Form and Function”)

Pearle, Philip 

Hamilton University (Title: “Topics in Collapse”)

Popescu, Sandu 

University of Bristol

Reznik, Benni

Tel Aviv University

Rohrlich, Daniel 

Ben Gurion University , Israel (Title: “Thinking outside the box”)

Steinberg, Aephraim

University of Toronto

Susskind, Leonard


Turok, Neil 

Director, Perimeter Institute

Unruh, Bill 

University of British Columbia, Vancouver

Vaidman, Lev 

Tel Aviv University (Title: “Paradoxes of the Aharonov-Bohm and Aharonov-Casher”)

Register for the YA80 Conference Today!

Click here 

* This event is by invitation only