» Recent Speakers for Global Education at Chapman

The Center for Global Education has sponsored distinguished guests from around the world to speak at Chapman University.

Toggle Section

U.S. Government/Diplomats/Consulates/Ambassadors

Kathleen Stephens, former US Charge d’Affaires to India

David Ballard, Director, US Department of State Office of Foreign Press

Former Brigadier General Dawn Lake, US Army Reserves, Military Intelligence Advisor to the Commander, Afghanistan

Ambassador Robert Bradtke (retired), Former Co-Chair of the Minsk Process

Marc Ginsberg, Former US Ambassador to Morocco, Senior Middle East Analyst

Honorable John Limbert, former US Ambassador to Mauritania

Peter B. Nyren, CIA Historical Collections Division

Matt Penney, CIA Historical Collections Division

Ambassador Rudolf Perina (retired), Former Sr. Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for European & Canadian Affairs

U.S. Rep. Ed Royce, Chairman of the House Foreign Affair Committee

Foreign Diplomats/Consulates/Ambassadors

Juris Bunkis, Honorary Consul for the Republic of Latvia 

Darius Gaidys, Consul General for the Republic of Lithuania 

Jaak Treiman, Honorary Consul for the Republic of Estonia

Charloette Kennedy, former Australian Diplomat

Asim Mollazade, member of Azerbaijan Parliament, Member of German Parliament

Honorable Sergei Aloshyn, Consul General for Ukraine in San Francisco

Doris Barnett, member of German Parliament

Honorable Jose Maria Aznar, former Prime Minister of Spain

Dr. Christian Burgsmüller, EU Diplomat - Counselor at the EU Delegation

Honorable Ramon Gil Casares, former Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs of Spain

Honorable Antonio Estevez, Commercial Consul of Spain

Tracey German, UK Ministry of Defense Staff College

Honorable Carlos Gianelli, Ambassador of Uruguay

Honorable Carlos Gitto, Consul General of Uruguay

Honorable David McNeill, Commercial Attache, US Embassy, Poland

Zofia Sobiepanek-Kukuryka, Commercial Specialist, US Embassy, Poland

Honorable Krystyna Tokarska-Biernacik, Consul General, Republic of Poland

Centers, Councils, & Institutes

Lynn Turk, Board of Directors, Pacific Century Institute

Terry McCarthy, Los Angeles World Affairs Council

Bharath Gopalaswamy, Director, South Asia Center, Atlantic Council

Bryan Bland, Chaplain, Palo Alto University and Senior Consultant, Stanford Center for International Conflict and Negotiation

David Koranyi, Dinu Patriciu Eurasia Center, Atlantic Council

Stepan Grigoryan, Chairman of the Board, Analytical Centre on Globalization and Regional Cooperation

Dr. Nayyar Ali, Chairman, Muslim Public Affairs Council

Dr. Cameron Browne, Deputy Director, Gloria Interdisciplinary Center, Herzliya, Israel

Dr. James D. Clark, Overseas Director of the American Institute of Iranian Studies

Ryan Hass, David M. Rubenstein Fellow in the Foreign Policy program at Brookings Institute 

Dr. Maher Hathout, Senior Advisor, Muslim Public Affairs Council

Dr. Avinoam Idan, Senior Visiting Fellow, Central Asia-Caucasus Institute & Silk Road Studies Program Joint Center

Dr. Ian Lessor, Vice President and Director of Studies, Pacific Council on International Policy

Kerry Kennedy, President of the Robert F. Kennedy Center for Justice and Human Rights

David Koranyi, Acting Director, Dinu Patriciu Eurasia Center of the Atlantic Council

E.Wayne Merry, Senior Fellow for Europe and Eurasia, American Foreign Policy Counci

Dr. Robin Niblett, Center for Strategic and International Studies, Washington, DC

Alexandros Petersen, Advisor, Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars

Nicolò Sartori, Researcher in the Security and Defence Department, Istituto Affari Internazionali, Rome, Italy

Orhan Taner, Director, Atlantic Council’s Energy and Economic Summit and the Council’s Istanbul office

Dr. Majid Tehranian, Director, Toda Institute for Global Peace and Policy Research

Kharis Templeman, social science research scholar, Shorenstein Asia-Pacific Research Center (APARC), 

Thomas de Waal, Senior Associate, Caucasus, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace

George Zarubin, Eurasia Partnership Foundation

International Organizations & Businesses

Ali Reza Nader, Rand Corporation

Camelia Entekhabifard, NYC based journalist

Joseph Cirincione, Ploughshares Fund 

Bruce Bennett, RAND Corporation

Dr. Henryka Bochniarz, President, Nicom Consulting Ltd., Warsaw, Poland

Dr. Ali Ettefaq, International Trade and Finance, Istanbul, Turkey

Dr. Willem Floor, former energy specialist, World Bank

Derek Grossman, senior defense analyst, Rand Corporation

Magsud Mammadov, External Relations Manager, Trans Anatolian Natural Gas Pipeline Project

Dr. Jeffrey Mankoff, Deputy Director and Fellow, CSIS Russia and Eurasia Program

Sebastian Mikosz, Executive Vice President, Polish Information and Foreign Investment Agency

Antonio Perez, CEO, Talgo, Inc. and Director, Talgo America

Roman Rewald, Chairman, American Chamber of Commerce in Poland

Modesto Rodriguez, Corporate Operations Manager, Panda Software

Rudy Van Beurden, Communication Manager, Fluxys

Taleh Ziyadov, Research Fellow, Azerbaijan Diplomatic Academy (ADA)

Deans and Faculty

Mohsen Milani, University of South Florida

Majid Rafizadeh, Harvard

Hooshang Amirahmadi, Rutgers, "The JCPOA and the Iranian Economy"

M Reza Amirkhizi, University of California-Irvine, "The JCPOA and the status of the 5+1’s commitments"

Mehrzad Boroujerdi, Syracuse University, "Iranian Domestic Opposition to the JCPOA"

Robert English, University of Southern California

David Kang, University of Southern California

Edward W. Walker, University of California - Berkeley

Bakhtiyar Aslanbayli, Lecturer of the Baku State University

Dr. Graeme Auton, Professor of Government, University of Redlands

Dr. Houri Berberian, Associate Professor of History, California State University, Long Beach

Dr. John Cooper, Distinguished Professor of International Studies, Rhode College

Dr. Hamid Dabashi, Professor of Iranian Studies and Comparative Literature, Columbia University

Dr. Russell Dalton, Professor of Political Science, University of California, Irvine

Dr. Elton L. Daniel, Professor of History, University of Hawaii

Dr. Mai’a K. Davis Cross, Assistant Professor of International Relations, University of Southern California

Dr. Patrick Drinan, Dean, College of Arts and Sciences, University of San Diego

Dr. Edward J. Erickson, Marine Corps University

Dr. Hafez Farmayan, Emeritus Professor of History, University of Texas at Austin

Dr. Ali Gheissari, Professor of History, University of San Diego

Dr. Hasan Javadi, adjunct professor of Persian Literature, George Washington University And Catholic University

Dr. Nader Hasemi, postdoctoral fellow, Department of Political Science, Northwestern University

Dr. Morad Eqhbal, University of Baltimore

Asbed Kotchikian, Lecturer, Bentley University

Dr. Jon Mandaville, Professor, History Department, Portland State University

Dr. David Menashri, Professor, Moshe Dayan Center for Middle East Studies, Tel Aviv University

Dr. Ali Parsa, Professor of philosophy of History, Islamic, and Religious Studies at California State University Fullerton

Dr. Michael Roskin, Chairman, Department of Political Science, Lycoming College, Pa.

Dr. Enrique Sanabria, Assistant Professor, University of New Mexico

Dr. Michael Scheuer, Author and Adjunct Professor, Georgetown University

Dr. Evan Siegel, Assistant Professor of Mathematics, New Jersey City University

Dr. Kate Svyatets, Lecturer, University of Southern California

Dr. Gregory Treverton, Associate Dean, Pardee RAND Graduate School