Academic Calendar

Fall 2016

Instruction begins

Monday, August 29

Labor Day (University closed)

Monday, September 5

Last day to add courses

Friday, September 9

Last day to drop courses without record of enrollment

Friday, September 9

Last day to change courses to Audit option

Friday, September 9

Graduate comprehensive examination

Saturday, September 17

Last day to add internships, experiential learning projects, individual study, reading and conference, dissertation research

Friday, September 30

Inauguration of Daniele C. Struppa as Chapman University's 13th President

Friday, September 30

Last day to withdraw from courses or change grading option (P/NP or Letter Grade)

Friday, November 4

Last day to change the number of credits in courses with variable credits

Friday, November 4

Thanksgiving recess (Monday to Wednesday, students only, University closed Thursday and Friday)

Monday–Friday,

November 21–25

Deadline to apply for February 2017 graduate comprehensive examination

Friday, December 9

Last day of instruction

Saturday, December 10

Final examinations

Monday–Saturday,

December 12–17

All grades due

Monday, January 2, 2017

Interterm 2017

Instruction begins

Tuesday, January 3

Graduate comprehensive examination (food science only)

Saturday, January 7

Last day to add courses

Monday, January 9

Last day to drop courses without record of enrollment

Monday, January 9

Last day to change courses to Audit option

Monday, January 9

Last day to add internships, experiential learning projects, individual study, reading and conference, dissertation research

Tuesday, January 10

Deadline to file Application for Degree Conferral for May and August 2017

Sunday, January 15

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (University closed)

Monday, January 16

Last day to withdraw from courses or change grading option (P/NP or Letter Grade)

Thursday, January 19

Last day to change the number of credits in courses with variable credits

Thursday, January 19

Last day of instruction and final examinations

Saturday, January 28

All grades due

Wednesday, February 1

Spring 2017

Instruction begins

Monday, January 30

Graduate comprehensive examination

Saturday, February 4

Last day to add courses

Friday, February 10

Last day to drop courses without record of enrollment

Friday, February 10

Last day to change courses to Audit option

Friday, February 10

Preferential date for filing for financial aid for 2017–2018

Thursday, March 2

Last day to add internships, experiential learning projects, individual study, reading and conference, dissertation research

Friday, March 3

Spring break (Monday through Saturday, students only)

Monday–Saturday,

March 20–25

Deadline to apply for June 2017 graduate comprehensive examination (education only)

Wednesday, March 29

Last day to withdraw from courses or change grading option (P/NP or Letter Grade)

Friday, April 14

Last day to change the number of credits in courses with variable credits

Friday, April 14

Last day of instruction

Saturday, May 13

Final examinations

Monday–Saturday,

May 15–20

Commencement

Friday–Sunday,

May 19–21

All grades due

Monday, May 29

Memorial Day (University closed)

Monday, May 29

Summer Session I 2017 (6 weeks)

Instruction begins

Tuesday, May 30

Graduate comprehensive examination (education and food science only)

Saturday, June 3

Last day to add courses

Monday, June 5

Last day to drop courses without record of enrollment

Monday, June 5

Last day to change courses to Audit option

Monday, June 5

Last day to add internships, experiential learning projects, individual study, reading and conference, dissertation research

Monday, June 12

Last day to withdraw from courses or change grading option (P/NP or Letter Grade)

Monday, June 26

Last day to change the number of credits in courses with variable credits

Monday, June 26

Independence Day observance (University closed)

Tuesday, July 4

Deadline to apply for September graduate comprehensive examination

Tuesday, July 4

Last day of instruction and final examinations

Saturday, July 8

All grades due

Wednesday, July 12

Summer Session II 2017 (9 weeks)

Instruction begins

Tuesday, May 30

Graduate comprehensive examination (education and food science only)

Saturday, June 3

Last day to add courses

Wednesday, June 7

Last day to drop courses without record of enrollment

Wednesday, June 7

Last day to change courses to Audit option

Wednesday, June 7

Last day to add internships, experiential learning projects, individual study, reading and conference, dissertation research

Monday, June 19

Independence Day observance (University closed)

Tuesday, July 4

Deadline to apply for September graduate comprehensive examination

Tuesday, July 4

Last day to withdraw from courses or change grading option (P/NP or Letter Grade)

Tuesday, July 11

Last day to change the number of credits in courses with variable credits

Tuesday, July 11

Last day of instruction and final examinations

Saturday, July 29

All grades due

Wednesday, August 2

Summer Session III 2017 (6 weeks)

Instruction begins

Monday, July 10

Last day to add courses

Friday, July 14

Last day to drop courses without record of enrollment

Friday, July 14

Last day to change courses to Audit option

Friday, July 14

Last day to add internships, experiential learning projects, individual study, reading and conference, dissertation research

Friday, July 21

Last day to withdraw from courses or change grading option (P/NP or Letter Grade)

Friday, August 4

Last day to change the number of credits in courses with variable credits

Friday, August 4

Deadline to file Application for Degree Conferral for January 2018

Tuesday, August 15

Last day of instruction and final examinations

Saturday, August 19

All grades due

Wednesday, August 23

Summer Session IV 2017 (12 weeks)

Instruction begins

Tuesday, May 30

Graduate comprehensive examination (education and food science only)

Saturday, June 3

Last day to add courses

Monday, June 12

Last day to drop courses without record of enrollment

Monday, June 12

Last day to change courses to Audit option

Monday, June 12

Last day to add internships, experiential learning projects, individual study, reading and conference, dissertation research

Monday, June 26

Independence Day observance (University closed)

Tuesday, July 4

Deadline to apply for September graduate comprehensive examination

Tuesday, July 4

Last day to withdraw from courses or change grading option (P/NP or Letter Grade)

Tuesday, July 25

Last day to change the number of credits in courses with variable credits

Tuesday, July 25

Deadline to file Application for Degree Conferral for January 2018

Tuesday, August 15

Last day of instruction and final examinations

Saturday, August 19

All grades due

Wednesday, August 23