A professor confers with her students over the meaning of a passage of text.

» University Honors Program

+ - Director

Cpeters

Carmichael Peters, Ph.D.                                                              
Director, University Honors Program

(714) 744-7613
cpeters@chapman.edu
Office: DeMille Hall 163

Courses:
HON 202: On Being Ethical in the World
HON 216: Twilight of the Gods
HON 230: Honors Forum
HON 335: The Enigma of Being Awake: Zen Buddhism
HON 409: Hermes Unbound: Divining Hermeneutics
HON 498: Honors Capstone                                   

+ - Honors Faculty

Dr. Ian Barnard

Ian Barnard
Associate Professor, English 

714-516-5775
barnard@chapman.edu

Course: 
HON 377: Critical Animal Studies
HON 432: Queer Theory


Dr. Jocelyn L. Buckner

Jocelyn L. Buckner, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Department of Theater 

(714) 289-2084
jbuckner@chapman.edu

Office: Moulton Hall 211

Course:
HON 360: Performing America(s): Creating, Celebrating, and Contesting nationhood in U.S. Theatre and Popular Entertainment


Dr. Federic Caporaso

Fredric Caporaso, Ph.D. 
Professor of Food Science

(714) 997-6638
caporaso@chapman.edu
Office: Hashinger Science Center 216

Course:
HON 207: Darwin's Evolutionary Theory: The Science and the Controversy


Marisa S. Cianciarulo, J.D.

Marisa S. Cianciarulo, J.D.
Associate Professor of Law

(714) 628-2612
cianciar@chapman.edu
Office: Kennedy Hall 440

Course:
HON 345: Immigration and Refugee Law and Policy


Dr. Sean Heim

Sean Heim, Ph.D.
Instructor of Music Theory/Composition
and Associate Professor of Music

(714) 744-7829
heim@chapman.edu]
Office: Oliphant Hall 306  

Courses:
HON 333: Creativity and the Human Condition
HON 347: Listening to Time: Area Studies in Ethnomusicology


Dr. Barnard McGrane

Bernard McGrane, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Sociology

(714) 997-6564
mcgrane@chapman.edu
Office: Roosevelt Hall 216

Courses:
HON 206: Media, Self and Society
HON 209: Death, Self and Society
HON 416: Sex, Self and Society


Domenico Napoletani Domenico Napoletani, Ph.D. 
Visiting Professor of Mathematics 



Course: 
HON 367: Pythagoras Revisited: A Quest for Interior Precision


Dr. Federico M. Pacchioni

Federico Pacchioni
Assistant Professor, World Languages and Culture 

714-744-7846
pacchion@chapman.edu 

Course: 
HON-371 The World of Fellini’s Cinema


Dr. Daniele Struppa

Daniele C. Struppa, Ph.D.
University Chancellor;
Professor of Mathematics and Computer Science

(714) 997-6826
struppa@chapman.edu
Office: Memorial Hall 114

Courses:
HON 321: The New Mathematics of the Italian Renaissance
HON 322: The Birth of Calculus: History of an Idea
HON 329: Paradoxes in the Early Twentieth Century, and the Birth of Set Theory
HON 329: Mathematics in Culture: The Inextricable Link


Dr. Justine Van Meter

Justine Van Meter, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of English

(714) 997-6634
vanmeter@chapman.edu
Office: DeMille Hall 150B

Courses:
HON 210: Monsters and Monstrosities
HON 338: Thana Tourism: Traveling the Dark Side
HON 344: Illustrating History/the World: Graphic Memoirs, Novels, and Reportage
HON 412: "Seas of Stories": Postcolonial Literature and Theory


Walker_Jessica

Jessica M. Walker, Ph. D.
Assistant Professor, Instructional Faculty 
Crean College of Health and Behavioral Sciences; Department of Psychology


(714) 516-5163
jewalker@chapman.edu
Office: Crean Hall 104

 


Dr. Michael S. Wood

Dr. Michael S. Wood
Assistant Professor, World Languages and Culture 

714-997-6842
mwood@chapman.edu 

Course: 
HON 240 Anime and War
HON-363 The Castaway Narrative in World Literature

+ - Honors Affiliated Faculty

Dr. Zeynep Akyol Ataman

Zeynep Ataman
Adjunct Faculty, Biological Sciences 

714-628-2862
zataman@chapman.edu

Course:
HON 364: Biology in Media and Reality
HON 383: Controvertial Topics in Biology 


Dr. Julye Bidmead

Julye Bidmead, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Religious Studies

(714) 532-7709
bidmead@chapman.edu
Office: Wilkinson Hall 234

Courses:
HON 220: Disney: Gender, Race and Religion
HON 366: Deities and Demons: Ancient and Modern


Susan Key

Susan Key

HON 419: The Search for an American Voice: Huck Finn to Harlem


Dr. L. Andrew Lyon

Andrew Lyon
Dean, Schmid College of Science & Technology

714-997-6930
lyon@chapman.edu 

Course:
HON 389: The Science Blender


Dr. Peter L. McLaren

Peter L. McLaren, Ph.D.
Professor, Distinguished Professor in Critical Studies
Co-Director, The Paulo Freire Democratic Project International Ambassador for Global Ethics and Social Justice

mclaren@chapman.edu
Office: Reeves Hall 205

Course:
HON 418: Critical Pedagogy: Teaching to Transgress


Dr. Zoltan C. Mester

Zoltan Mester
Adjunct, Chemistry

714-628-2862
mester@chapman.edu

Course:
HON-376 Sustainability in an Unsustainably Structured World


Dr. G. Michael Pace

G. Michael Pace, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Chair, Department of Philosophy

(714) 744-7932
pace@chapman.edu
Office: Wilkinson Hall 233

Course:
HON 359: Fundamentals of Deductive and Inductive Logic

 


Jessica Sternfeld

Jessica Sternfeld, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Music
Director of Student Affairs at College of Performing Arts Conservatory of Music

(714) 289-3561 
sternfel@chapman.edu
Office: Bertea Hall 213

Course:
HON 368: Community and Identity in Musical Theater


Dr. Walter Tschacher

Walter Tschacher
Professor, World Languages and Culture

714-628-7276
tschacher@chapman.edu 

Course:
HON-381 Think for Yourself: From Socrates to Adorno


Dr. Adrian Vajiac

Adrian Vajiac, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Schmid College of Science and Technology
Mathematics and Computer Science

(714) 997-6898
avajiac@chapman.edu
Office: Von Neumann Hall 103

Course:
HON 382: Fabric of the Universe: Space, Time, and Reality

  • Featured
  • News
  • Events